mrsjennyanydots

My return to tatting

on March 24, 2015

I was recently given a tatting book, called ‘New Tatting’ by Tomoko Morimoto, which has reignited my passion for lace work.  I started with tatting a few years ago but there were very few books on the subject so I kind of lost interest after learning the basic stitches and making a couple of designs.  My lovely new book has lots of interesting patterns and a detailed ‘how to’ section for me to look through.  My first attempt went well, the patterns are clearly written out and the charts are detailed enough to make sense but not be cluttered with numbers.  

As you can see, this was a little flower design (it’s actually pink but my camera wanted it to look white!) not bad for my first attempt in a couple of years! It’s made with one shuttle and the ball of cotton still attached to make the chain stitches and ring stitches (rings are the ones in the middle, chains run around the edges) 

My second project was still with just one shuttle (until I can find the others this might be a theme!) but I used a different colour for the ball, so the chain stitches are a different colour.  I’m very pleased with the result, I always need more bookmarks! 

 

My only fault with the book is the way that the ends of cotton are hidden.  The author suggests that once they are knotted together they should be trimmed and glued to the reverse of the work.  I don’t think that’s the best way to do it- I simply knot them and the weave the ends under the stitches with the running thread, hidden away, secure and completely invisible. That was there is no worries about the glue coming unstuck and the ends becoming messy. So far that’s my only concern with the book though, so I’m pretty impressed! 

I’ve just ordered another shuttle from ebay, so more patterns will happen soon, I just need to go and buy more colours of crochet cotton now to play with! I’ve been using number 20 cotton so far, and I’m pleased with the results.  I do have a couple of balls of number 10 I could play with, we shall see if I like the thicker cotton! 


3 responses to “My return to tatting

  1. notewords says:

    I’ve seen the ‘cut and glue’ tip in a few places, but I would also rather hide the ends – I sew them in. I can’t believe any glue will last as long as the tatting will. šŸ˜‰ Lovely bookmark.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Aw, thank you! I’m pretty pleased with it. Sewing in the ends is definitely the way to go – I’ve only once not managed it and realised it was because my stitches were way to tight – it was my first attempt so was still getting the hang of things!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Excellent first attempt! Mine looked so awful! Since then, thankfully, I’ve improved. Like you two, I believe in sewing in the ends. Sometimes if the tail is a little shorter than I had hoped, I will add a tiny dollop of Fray Check to the last knot – just in case. Keep tatting!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment